Jun 15, 2024  
2019-2020 Academic Catalog 
2019-2020 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Imaging Sciences

Imaging Sciences

Department Chair: Genese Gibson

Program Directors: Elizabeth Duncan, Jena Heflin, Deziree Rada

Clinical Coordinator: Marie Smith, Leslie Whalley

Faculty: Maggie Conner, Deborah Mills, Kelly Mumbert, Marjorie Quevedo, Marie Smith, Lukus Staup, Elizabeth Thomason, Christine Soderlin


Click to view Clinical Adjunct Faculty  



Mission Statement

Consistent with the mission of the University, the Department of Imaging Sciences at AdventHealth University (AHU) provides a Christian educational environment that prepares students to become skilled imaging professionals who possess technical expertise and personal characteristics for successful employment.

Licensure and Accreditation

Diagnostic Medical Sonography

The program is designed to prepare students to sit for the American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS) examinations. Since the program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP), 25400 U.S. Highway 19 North, Suite 158, ​Clearwater, FL 33763; (727) 210-2350, graduates will be eligible to sit for the national examinations upon successful completion of the program.

Nuclear Medicine Technology

Program graduates will be eligible to apply for an examination administered either by the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB) or the American Registry of Radiologic Technology (ARRT), and subsequently may be licensed by various state agencies.

The Nuclear Medicine Technology Program is accredited in accordance with the standards as set forth by the Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology (JRCNMT), 2000 W. Danforth Road, Suite 130, #203, Edmond, Oklahoma 73003; (405) 285-0546; e-mail: mail@jrcnmt.org.

Radiologic Sciences

Graduates will be eligible to apply for the National Certification Examination administered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT), and subsequently may be licensed by various state licensing agencies. The A.S. Radiography Program is accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology, 20 N. Wacker Drive, Suite 2850, Chicago, IL 60606-3182, (312) 704-5300, fax (312) 704-5304. The program follows the standards for an Accredited Educational Program in Radiography. These standards are available for review at www.jrcert.org.